The Wombats

Formed in 2003 whilst in attendance at Liverpool Institute of Performing Arts, The Wombats were at the peak of the noughties British indie rock explosion. The three piece, who are made up from vocalist/guitarist Matthew Murphy, drummer Dan Haggis, and Norwegian-born bassist Tord Øverland-Knudsen, released their their UK debut A Guide to Love, Loss and Desperation in 2007. The release saw them explode into popularity, sending the record platinum.

With a knack for smashing out incredible indie dance floor fillers the Wombat’s won NME Award for Best Dance Floor Filler in 2008 with ‘Let’s Dance to Joy Division’. Other massive hits such as ‘Kill The Director’. ‘Backfire At The Disco’ and ‘Moving to New York’ sky rocketed the bands combined sales to an impressive 300,000.

2017 saw the band announce a 10-year anniversary in celebration of their debut album A Guide to Love, Loss and Desperation with a show at London’s 02 Brixton Academy. The exciting return for the band is accompanied by front man Murphy’s announcement that work is underway for The Wombat’s fourth studio album, scheduled for release at the end of summer 2017.